Close

Our School App Stay connected on the go...

Open
Select Language
Menu

Safeguarding

Safeguarding Contact

If you have any Safeguarding concerns, our Designated Safeguarding Leads, Miss Timmins and Mrs Patterson, will be available during school hours (8.45 am – 3.35 pm). Please contact them on dsl@highworth.kent.sch.uk should you need to speak to anyone.

Outside of school hours, any Child Protection and Safeguarding concerns should be reported to the Kent Social Care and Health ‘Front Door’ – 03000 411111 (outside office hours 03000 419191) and/or the Police on 101/999.  

What is Safeguarding?

Highworth Grammar School takes its responsibility for Safeguarding our young people very seriously.  We follow the definition of Safeguarding as set out in Keeping Children Safe in Education 2021.

Safeguarding is:

  • Protecting children from maltreatment
  • Preventing impairment of children’s mental and physical health or development
  • Ensuring that children grow up in circumstances consistent with the provision of safe and effective care
  • Taking action to enable all children to have the best outcomes.

Safeguarding the needs and safety of young people at Highworth always comes first and we are committed to safeguarding our students, staff and visitors.  We expect all staff, volunteers and visitors to share this commitment.  This is because Safeguarding is everyone’s responsibility. 

All staff have been trained to be able to detect signs that a young person is not thriving or being subject to abuse or neglect and any concerns will be acted upon in line with our Safeguarding procedures.

The Safeguarding Team

At Highworth we are very fortunate to have a large Safeguarding Team.  Any concerns about student wellbeing can be made directly to Miss Timmins, Mrs Patterson or any of the Assistant DSLs who are the Student Support Managers. 

Senior DSL Miss C Timmins (Assistant Headteacher) c.timmins@highworth.kent.sch.uk
DSL Mrs Linda Patterson l.patterson@highworth.kent.sch.uk
Assistant DSLs Mrs Bourazza h.bourazza@highworth.kent.sch.uk
  Mrs Giles n.giles@highworth.kent.sch.uk
  Mrs Jones c.jones@highworth.kent.sch.uk
  Mrs Smith y.smith@highworth.kent.sch.uk
  Mrs Strange t.strange@highworth.kent.sch.uk
  Mrs Thorogood j.thorogood@highworth.kent.sch.uk

Prevent Information

Click here for a guide for parents/carers on how to protect children from online hate, extremism and fake news.